Monarchs Face Champion Test

Birmingham are back in Elite League action this weekend as they face last seasons champions Horspath Hammers.

The Oxford based side have made a few changes over the winter with the major one being Steve Harris moving down to the Dorset coast and Lukasz Nowacki coming in from Leicester.

Hammers World Champion Nowacki will be at Sandwell

Hammers World Champion Nowacki will be at Sandwell


The Hammers came out champions last year winning their final meeting away at Sheffield. This term Horspath have found the going tough with just one win out of the opening three fixtures meaning they sit in third place behind the unbeaten Poole and Sheffield.

Birmingham will be coming into the meeting looking for a upturn in fortunes after no points so far this season. The Monarchs will be at Sandwell’s Lower City Road track again and will be hoping for Scott Millward to be fit for the fixture. Kieron Jones and Nick Evans will be making the trip from over the border as they will be joined by Mark Winwood and Nathan Groves in the side.

Horspath will feature as well as Nowacki, Jack Harrold who rode for Birmingham last year. The Welsh youngster will not be the only familiar face to Birmingham riders and fans as Lewis Bates and Errol Thaw will be riding for the visitors.

A familiar face will be in the away pits this Sunday

A familiar face will be in the away pits this Sunday




Last year the fixture was filmed for Sky Sports on a warm sunny August afternoon at Perry Park and the Oxfordshire side edged the meeting 95-85 as Shaun Rudman top scored for Horspath as Bates, Harris and Lewis Osborne gave good back up.

Chris Timms and Paul Heard were the dynamic duo for Birmingham on the day as Marcus Wadhams also showed his ability claiming sixteen points.

Birmingham 85: Konrad Pietak 10+1, Jack Harrold 11+1, Nathan Groves 3, Marcus Wadhams 16, Scott Millward 6, Chris Timms 17+1, Mark Winwood 5, Paul heard 17+1.

Horspath 95: Shaun Rudman 17+1, Chris Osborne 3+1, Lewis Bates 15+2, Mark Carmichael 11, Mark Boaler 11+1, Errol Thaw 9+2, Steve Harris 12+3, Lewis Osborne 14+1


Birmingham 47: Phil Widdas 10, Jake Ryan 5, Reece Winwood 9+1, Paul Timms 11 Rich Stevenson 8 Ryan Winwood 4.

Horspath 82:  Simon Munden 18+2, Livvi Horsley 10+1, George Horsley 16, Rich Harrison 16+4,Zac Payne 8+3, Mark James 14 Jordan Richardson dnr