Scott Millward: Cannot Wait To Get Back!

Birmingham’s Scott Millward has had a frustrating 2013 so far. After a great run at the indoors last December, Millward looked in good form ahead of Monarchs Elite and Midland League commitments. But the former Sandwell rider has been forced to sit on the sidelines due to a hand injury and is currently waiting for it to heal. Whilst Scott plays the waiting game we caught up with him to ask about how things are going.

Scott Millward 2nd place in the Under 19's Indoor Final

Scott Millward 2nd place in the Under 19’s Indoor Final

You must be frustrated not being able to get on the bike how is the hand injury? 

Very frustrated with the injury! It’s healing well and I will hopefully be back on the bike ASAP!

 Being a former Sandwell rider how does it feel to see racing at the track and also to ride on it yourself once you are back? 

I really do love the Sandwell track! It’s my favourite track quick and tight! Hopefully the other lads will adapt to as seen from our first match against Sheffield! 

Scott Millward

Against Sheffield you were in the pits with the team supporting them which was great to see. Does there seem to be a change in atmosphere within the camp? 

The atmosphere in the pits in the opening Elite match was surprisingly good! All the lads gelled well and rose as a team even though we didn’t get the result we were after all the riders heads were held high.

Looking at the other Elite League sides who is your tip to lift the trophy? 

Well obviously I would love us to win the Elite and it is still possible! But my favourite would be Wednesfield at the moment! 

You finished on the podium in the Indoors at the back end of last season, how did you feel it went as well as last year with Birmingham? 

Yeah the indoors was a great result for myself though I missed the white shirt by just a couple of points! Yeah I probably should have been a lot more professional than I was last season but looking back at my performance it wasn’t really that bad.

 With the injury layoff are you looking to the British Finals and Australia or are you going to build momentum for next year? 

As soon as I can grip the bars I will be back on the bike, once I’m back to full strength I would love to start looking at the higher individual comps such as the British!

